Adding a G Suite Organisation

Adding a G Suite Organisation

Requirements

  1. G Suite: You must be a super administrator for your G Suite organisation - This is the default for the user that sets up G Suite with Google.
  2. Backoops: You must be a company administrator for your Backoops account - This is the default for the user that signs up for the service.

Adding a G Suite Organisation

1. Sign in to the Backoops backup console as a company administrator.
2. Click Devices > Add > G Suite.
3. Follow the instructions displayed by the software:
  1. Click Open marketplace.
  2. Sign in with the G Suite Super Admin credentials.
  3. Click Domain install.
  4. Confirm the domain-wide installation. G Suite displays a list of permissions that are necessary to back up and recover your organisation's data.
  5. Confirm that you grant the backup service these permissions.
  6. Complete the installation wizard.
  7. Go to the Apps launcher icon in Google (top right, a square made of 9 dots), find the Backup Service application in the list, and then click on it.
You will be redirected back to the Backoops backup console. Your organisation's data items appear in the backup console on the G Suite page.

Tips for further usage

  1. The cloud agent synchronises with G Suite every 24 hours, starting from the moment when the organisation is added to the backup service. If you add or remove a user or Shared drive, you will not see this change in the backup console immediately. To forcibly synchronise the cloud agent with G Suite, select the organisation on the G Suite page, and then click Refresh.
  2. If you applied a backup plan to the All users or All Shared drives group, the newly added items will be included in the backup only after the synchronisation.
  3. According to Google policy, after a user or Shared drive is removed from the G Suite GUI, it remains available for a few days via the API. During these days, the removed item is inactive (greyed out) in the backup console and is not backed up. When the removed item becomes unavailable via the API, it disappears from the backup console. Its backups (if any) can be found at Backups > Cloud Applications Backups.